Westfields Football Club 1st Team

1st Team news

Westfields v Stratford Town

MATCH REPORT - Monday, January 31, 2011

Westfields 2 - D.Addis, Jackson
Stratford Town 1 - Herlihy


Westfields produced a non-stop hard-working MFA League performance to record a superb 2-1 home win over visiting Stratford Town who were on an 11 match MFA unbeaten run.

Westfields jumped up into the top 7 with a breathtaking winning goal by Man of the Match Scott Jackson who scored an 82nd minute match winner to end the Stratford impressive League run.

Westfields had to work overtime in defence and Phil Glover, Joel Edwards and Man of the Match Jackson were very impressive.

Westfields took a 26th minute lead when a Carl Morgan corner kick was headed powerfully by Jackson which the Stratford keeper parried and leading goal scorer Daryl Addis pounced to smash home the opening goal.

After the break, Stratford put Westfields under pressure and eventually drew level in the 68th minute when Stuart Herlihy shot home the equaliser when he drove the ball home through a ruck of players when Westfields had failed to clear a left wing corner.

However, Westfields hit back superbly when in the 82nd minute, from a corner kick by substitute Mark Hibbard, Scott Jackson smashed the ball into the roof of the net from 18 yards for the match winner.

Stratford came storming back for an equaliser but the Westfields’ defence stood firm and in the dying minutes Anthony Robbins smashed a 20 yard free kick against the Stratford cross bar.

Westfields: Pugh, Glover, Edwards, Addis (J), Jackson, Cuss, Jones (Hibbard 75th), Robbins, Addis (D) (Davis 87th), Kear (Hopkinson 70th), Morgan.

Subs not used: Moore and Price.

League Sponsors

Midland Football League

Baker Joiner - Property Damage Management

The FA


Next 1st Team Fixture

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

A F C Wulfrunians

View more fixtures

Latest 1st Team Result

Saturday, August 18, 2018

Shepshed Dynamo

View Match report

View more results

Upcoming events

2018 Sportsmans Evening 2018 Sportsmans Evening

Thursday, October 04, 2018

We have secured as our principal guest the BBC television rugby commentator Ian Robertson, who is perhaps one of the best after-dinner speakers on the circuit, along with comedian, Lea Roberts.

52nd Anniversary Draw 52nd Anniversary Draw

Saturday, December 15, 2018

Draw will take place in the club house on Saturday 15th December, 2018

View more forthcoming events...

Latest Supporters Club Draw Winners

August 2018

First Prize Sophie Edwards £150.00
Second Prize Nathan Rivers £100.00
Third Prize Dave Macklin £50.00

Join our Supporters Club