Westfields Football Club 2nd Team

2nd Team news

Presentation Evening 2010/11

Saturday, May 21, 2011

Presentation Evening 2010/11


Westfields FC held their End of Season Presentation of Awards Dinner at Burghill Valley Golf Club on Saturday to celebrate a “glittering success” when the Chief Executive described the season as “An outstanding achievement by the club’s teams”.

“It doesn’t get much better than this.  We have been playing for 45 years and to end the season with this array of trophies is wonderful.  To all players, staff, committee and supporters, enjoy the moment.”

Westfields MFA team had finished 6th and had enjoyed an FA Vase run and won the HFA County Senior Challenge Cup for a joint record time of 10 wins, while the Herefordshire Premier Division side had won the Premier Division Championship and the HFA Senior Charity Bowl, and the Under 18 team had won the HFA Under 18 Floodlit League to crown a fantastic season for the allpay.park club.

“Since we moved to allpay.park and expanded our superb facilities the club has grown, not just to be Herefordshire’s top non-league team but one of the top clubs in the Midlands.  We can all be proud of the achievement of Westfields, we have a superb committee led by Chairman John Morgan and a management structure in place led by Sean Edwards – why don’t we go for it next year and win the MFA and get to Wembley for the FA Vase – we have to set targets so let’s set them high” said Andrew Morris.

Manager Sean Edwards praised the players and his staff of Joe Rawle, Darren Lynch, Jim Clyde, Nathan Rivers and Brian Jones, saying “If this squad stays together we can push for the title and have good Cup runs in all competitions.  It’s a big hard league the MFA but we have shown incredible commitment in all our games, especially away from home where we travel so many miles but always with a good squad of players.”

Edwards said he felt that Westfields should have finished higher than 6th but were only 3 points off 3rd place.  They drew too many games late in the season but can produce a team capable of doing another sound job next season too.

Herefordshire Premier Division Champions, Westfields Reserves, were congratulated by their joint managers Steve Higgins and Anthony Rivett.  “We took over the side this season and ran it with a tight integration to both the 1st team and Under 18 team.  54 players played in the team over the season and it was very much a club team rather than just a reserve team.  First Team players returning from suspension or injury played in the team because we ran it professionally and this was rewarded with a League and Cup double success” said Steve Higgins the team manager.

Westfields Under 18 team had won the HFA Under 18 Floodlit League and Sean Edwards praised Richard Cassidy who had brought that group of players from the Under 11 age group in Junior football.  “Richard has worked very hard, often single-handed, to produce players now capable of entering Senior football next season”.

Westfields Chief Executive Andy Morris also praised their two main sponsors, allpay Ltd and the Hereford Times, for their financial support during the season.


Westfields Under 18 Player of the Year – Zac Sirrell

Herefordshire League “Players’ Player of the Year” – Wes Owen

Herefordshire League Player of the Year - jointly won by Rory Hollingshead and Jim Moreton

Young Player of the Year – Dan Price

The Brian Preece Golden Boot Leading Goalscorer award – Richard Kear (32)

Westfields First Team “Players’ Player of the Year” – Joel Edwards

Westfields First Team Player of the Year – jointly won by Scott Jackson and Craig Jones

Westfields Clubman of the Year – Steve Higgins.

League Sponsors

Midland Football League

Baker Joiner - Property Damage Management

The FA


Latest 2nd Team Result

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Ledbury Town

View more results

Upcoming events

2019 Golf day 2019 Golf day

Thursday, May 02, 2019

The popular Westfields Golf Day has been announced for this season when it will take place on Thursday 2nd May at Burghill Valley Golf Club, Hereford.

View more forthcoming events...

Latest Supporters Club Draw Winners

April 2018

First Prize Marc Penson £150.00
Second Prize Douglas Frazer £100.00
Third Prize Dennis Bevan £50.00

Join our Supporters Club